Thanks for joining us again this Friday. This week we just have training reminders and a single job post to share.
The Office of the Appellate Defender (OAD) is seeking an entry-level assistant appellate defender. The ideal candidate will have the ability to analyze facts, accept advice and learn from assigned mentors, identify relevant law, apply facts and communicate complex legal concepts effectively, and treat clients with respect. Applications for this position will be accepted until 5 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 4. For the full job description and to apply, please visit here.
On Tuesday, Oct. 30, from 2 – 5 p.m., OJD will be hosting a Juvenile Court Basics CLE at the Surry County Courthouse. There are 3 CLE credit hours pending for this training. There is no need to RSVP and all are welcome to attend. Please contact our office if you have any questions.
The registration deadline for the UNC School of Government‘s Back to School CLE will be Wednesday, Oct. 31. This event will be hosted on Nov. 16, from 8:45 a.m. – 5 p.m. The training offers 6.25 hours of CLE credit, including an hour of ethics and an optional hour of substance abuse credit. Topics will include civil and criminal case law and legislative updates, the opioid epidemic, and a review and preview of the U.S. Supreme Court. Registration will be $300. Lunch will be provided. To register please visit the UNC SOG site here.
On Dec. 7, from 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m., the UNC School of Government will be hosting the 2018 Winter Criminal Law Update. This webinar will cover recent criminal law decisions issued by the North Carolina appellate courts and U.S. Supreme Court and will highlight significant criminal law legislation enacted by the North Carolina General Assembly. School of Government criminal law experts Shea Denning and Phil Dixon Jr. will discuss a wide range of issues affecting felony and misdemeanor cases in the North Carolina state courts. Participants will receive 1.5 hours of general CLE credit and this qualifies for NC State Bar criminal law specialization credit. All public defenders, private attorneys who handle or are interested in pursuing indigent criminal defense work, and other court personnel who handle criminal cases are invited. The registration fee for private assigned counsel, contract attorneys, and other non-IDS employees is $75.00. There is no registration fee for IDS state employees. Please visit here to register online and find additional information about the webinar. Pre-registration is required; the deadline is 5:00 p.m., Wednesday, December 5. As it is a live broadcast, the webinar is NOT subject to the State Bar’s 6-hour per year credit limit for computer-based CLE. For more info, please contact Tanya Jisa, Program Manager, firstname.lastname@example.org or 919.843.8981.
That is all for now. News may slow down as we get closer to the holiday season, but we will continue to share what comes. Check back again next week and have a great weekend!